Copyright © 1995-2001 UKUUG Ltd.

UK UNIX User Group


Notice of AGM

Council Nomination form

Proxy Vote

Working Group Interest Form

AGM minutes (PDF)

Treasurer's report (PDF)

Chair's report (PDF)



Minutes of the Eleventh Annual General Meeting of UKUUG Ltd.

held on Thursday 26th September 2002 at 6.00 p.m.

Room 731, The Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London WC1
Present:	Charles Curran - Individual member - Council Chairman
		James Youngman - Individual member - Council Treasurer
		Alasdair Kergon - Individual member - Council
		Roger Whittaker - Individual member  - Council
		Sam Smith - Individual member
		Mick Farmer - Birkbeck College
		Keith Matthews - Individual member
		Andrew Findlay - Individual member
		Ruth Moulton - Individual member
		Steve Clarke  - Energis Squared Ltd.
		Mike Clinch - Individual member
		John Edwards - Individual member
		John Collins - Xi Software Ltd.
		Alain Williams - Individual member
		Thomas Sippel-Dau - Individual member
		Ramanan Selvaratnam - Individual member
		Derek Bush - Individual member
		William Boughton - Student member

Secretary:	Jane Morrison

Apologies:	Owen LeBlanc - University of Manchester - Council
		David Hallowell - Individual member - Council
		Chris Benson - Individual member
		Sunil Das - Honorary member
		Gordon Hill - Individual member
  1. To Approve the Minutes of the tenth Annual General Meeting held on 27th September 2001

    It was proposed by Roger Whittaker, seconded by Sam Smith and agreed unanimously that the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 27th September 2001, which had previously been circulated to all members, be approved.

  2. To receive the Chairman's Report, Treasurer's Report and the accounts of the Company for the year ended 31st December 2001, together with the reports thereon of the Council and Auditors.

    Copies of the Treasurer's report were circulated to those present (see attached).
    Copies of the year-end accounts had previously been circulated with the Agenda. James Youngman briefly explained that subscription income had been down in the year but the Linux Conference had generated a profit. Other factors relating to the loss were the reduction in interest rates for the monies held on deposit.
    Charles Curran explained that Council were trying to get costs categorised more clearly and appropriately in the accounts.
    Charles Curran read his Chairman's report of the year's activities; this is attached.
    For this next year, Council proposes that we stay with the same auditors, WKH.
    Charles asked if there were any questions relating to the Treasurer's report, year-end accounts or the Chairman's report.
    Andrew Findlay asked what Council expected in the current year-end accounts. Charles Curran said they would probably be similar to this year's if we stage similar events and maintain membership numbers. The Linux conference in July had made a profit of about 5K; this was mainly due to the sponsorship level. This profit, with last year's, which was about 2K, will be carried over to next year's budget and will allow fees to be kept relatively low. Bank interest income has been lower due to the interest rates. Sponsor Memberships could be a great help with our costs.
    There were no other questions.
    It was then proposed by Andrew Findlay, seconded by Keith Matthews that the Chairman's Report, Treasurer's Report, and the accounts of the Company for the year ended 31st December 2001, together with the reports thereon of the Council and Auditors be approved. This was carried unanimously.

  3. To consider the re-appointment of WKH (formerly Watts Knowles) of Kneesworth Street, Royston, Herts as Auditors of the Company until the conclusion of the next general meeting of the Company at which accounts are laid before the members, and to authorise the Council to determine their remuneration.

    It was proposed by Charles Curran, seconded by Roger Whittaker and unanimously agreed to re-appoint WKH.

  4. To consider elections to Council from the Nominations received.

    It was proposed by Mike Clinch, seconded by Mick Farmer and unanimously agreed to accept the four nominations received: Alasdair Kergon, James Youngman, Sam Smith and Alain Williams.
    To confirm, the new Council is as follows: Charles Curran, Roger Whittaker, Alasdair Kergon, James Youngman, Sam Smith, and Alain Williams.

  5. To Transact any other business

    There was no further business to transact and the chairman closed the meeting at 18:15 thanking those present for attending.

26th September 2002
approved by CC - 8/10/02
distributed: 11/10/02